Crammed Discs


A supergroup comprising Deerhoof + Juana Molina + Kasai Allstars

+ Konono No.1 + Skeletons + Wildbirds & Peacedrums

- Congotronics International (a supergroup comprised of Konono Nº1, Kasai Allstars, Deerhoof, Juana Molina, Wildbirds & Peacedrums, and Skeletons’ Matthew Mehlan) have announced their epic collaborative new album, Where’s The One?,is released on Crammed Discs.

- Eleven years lovingly in the making, Where’s The One? gathers 19 musicians from across four continents, working together to create a new musical language that combines the traditional electrified music of the Congolese artists with the various experimental rock styles of their admirers based in Europe and the Western Hemisphere.
- The album’s 21 electrifying songs consist of concert recordings processed and mixed by Deerhoof’s Greg Saunier, and studio tracks produced in the years before, during, and after the Congotronics vs. Rockers tour, which brought these acts together for the first time in 2011 tour —all in all, ten lead vocalists, five guitarists, three likembe players, five percussionists, two bass players, and three drummers—for performances at 16 major festivals and venues in ten countries.

- Where’s The One?’s dynamic first two singles preview all sides of the recording: the triumphant and wild “Banza Banza,” which showcases Kasai Allstars’ powerhouse lead vocalist Kabongo Tshisense, and the dreamy, folk-inflected instrumental “Beyond The 7th Bend,” written and performed by Kasai Allstars’ Tshisense & Mopero Mupemba,  Matt Mehlan and Juana Molina, which intermingles Western & African guitars and a Congolese thumb piano. The album features cover art drawn by Juana Molina that portrays all the participants on stage.

2022 © CRAMMED DISCS - cram 309